Tulsa Aggravated Assault and Battery Charges have serious consequences for those convicted of the crime. The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation shows over 11,300 reports of aggravated assault and battery in 2015. In the grand scheme, it may appear a relatively small number. However, it can carry heavy penalties. If you believe you were part of an aggravated assault and battery read on to understand more about what you are facing and how we can help you.
Aggravated Assault and Battery Statute:
Oklahoma Statute Title 21 § 646 specifies when assault and battery becomes aggravated:
– When great bodily harm is inflicted upon the person assaulted; OR
– If the person committing the assault and battery is of good health and the victim is aged, incapacitated, or decrepit.
The Statute further addresses “great bodily harm”. This includes bone fractures, permanent disfigurement, mental or physical impairment, and/or serious risk the victim may die. Further, when the assault and battery occurs against a family member or romantic partner the penalties increase and the offense becomes domestic abuse. Even higher penalties also occur for other special victims of aggravated assault and battery, including on-duty police, medical officers, or firefighters; on-duty school officials; court officers; and sports officials.
Punishment for Aggravated Assault and Battery:
Aggravated assault and battery is a felony. You could face a jail term or probation depending on the facts of you case.Minimally, this can include up to 5 years in state prison and/or a fine up to $1,000. In addition, offenders may have to pay restitution to victims. For example, restitution can include medical fees, repair of damaged property, etc. Most notably though, without an Oklahoma expungement, the conviction remains on your permanent record. This further leads to loss of rights to bear firearms and to vote. It also causes issues when searching for housing and getting professional licenses.
Was a child present? The charges will be different. Read here to learn more about these charges.
Tulsa Aggravated Assault and Battery Lawyers in Your Corner:
If you’ve been charged with aggravated assault and battery you are facing a felony charge. What may have began as a simple fight or disagreement became out of control. The State of Oklahoma and Tulsa district attorneys office aggressively prosecute this type of crime. Don’t go it alone. Do the research and hire the best assault and battery lawyer in Tulsa. Call 416-0358 or fill out this form.