Tulsa DUI Attorneys | Tulsa Criminal Defense Lawyers

Tulsa DUI Attorneys explain that every year, thousands of people across the U.S. are charged with drunk driving. Some people get behind the wheel after having a martini or two. A simple lapse in judgment can result in being charged with drunk driving and paying hefty fines if convicted.

Contact our Tulsa DUI attorneys if you’ve been charged with drunk driving. We can provide you with legal guidance and advice. Our attorneys can advocate on your behalf to help you avoid serving jail time or having your driver’s license suspended as a result of drunk driving. Read on to learn more about the Oklahoma crime Drunk Driving Laws

The Oklahoma crime DUI is described in Okla. stat. tit. 47 § 11-902. The law sets out that if a drivers blood alcohol content (BAC) is above .08% they will be charged with drunk driving. Basically, consuming the smallest amount of alcohol and getting behind the wheel can result in you BAC above the legal limit.

If a person is charged with drunk driving, and its a first offense its charged as a misdemeanor DUI. The maximum sentence includes a $1,000 fine, 180 day license suspension, and the possibility of serving up to one year in jail. The judge will order the accused to take a drug and alcohol assessment and follow its recommendations.

If a person is charged with drunk driving, and its a second offense its charged as a Felony DUI. The DUI is charged as a felony if its a committed with ten years of a previous conviction. A DUI felony second offense carries a maximum fine of $2,500, a driver license suspension, and one to five year jail sentence.

Oklahoma Driver’s License Suspension:

If you’re arrested for drunk driving, your driver’s license will be suspended. You’ll have to request a hearing within 15 days of your arrest to challenge the suspension of your license. You may obtain a modified license pending your hearing date. This requires you to install an ignition interlock devise in your car. Consult with an attorney for legal advice before attending any hearing regarding the restoration of your driving privileges.

Professional  & Personal Limitations

In addition to the civil and criminal penalties that occur as a result of a drunk driving conviction, your professional and personal life may also experience unwanted consequences. For example, depending on your job, you may be required to resign if you are convicted of a misdemeanor or felony. If your driver’s license is suspended, and you are a bus driver, you may lose your job.
Additionally, if you are convicted of a felony, you may lose your right to vote for a specified period of time. You will also be prohibited from purchasing firearms or traveling outside the state.

Tulsa DUI Attorneys Working For You:

Do not let a lapse in judgment destroy your professional career. Having a criminal conviction for DUI on your record may inhibit your career or cost you your freedom. Contact our Tulsa DUI attorneys for legal representation. We provide legal service to Oklahoman s charged with drunk driving. Lawmakers are constantly looking to change DUI laws in Oklahoma to enforce harsher penalties. If you represent yourself, you may not be aware of such changes and expose yourself to increased criminal liability. Call Tulsa criminal lawyers today to speak with us about your case.

Criminal Defense Blog

Fighting Tulsa Statutory Rape Charges

Fighting Tulsa Statutory Rape Charges require a criminal defense attorney with experience. When most people imagine statutory rape, they think of strange situations like that of 37-year-old Oklahoma nurse Amy Blose.  She is currently in jail serving a 15 year sentence for statutory rape of a teenage boy.  After her arrest she attempted to send a note to her victim.  It was in a breakfast burrito another teenager was asked to deliver.  However, statutory rape is often a result of two teenagers having a sexual relationship when… Read More

Texting and Driving in Tulsa County

Tulsa County Texting and Driving Tickets is a fairly new ticket being issued by the Police in Oklahoma. In 2015, the Oklahoma Governor signed into effect Okla. HB 1965.  This made Oklahoma the 46th state to ban texting and driving.  The National Safety council reports some startling statistics about texting and driving.  An estimated 25% of the annual 1.6 million car accidents are the result of texting.  Further, approximately 330,000 injury accidents are due to texting each year.  If you face texting while driving charges this article explains… Read More

Tulsa Criminal Attorney Explains Shooting With Intent to Kill

Shooting with intent to kill is a felony crime in Oklahoma. The law takes shooting with intent to kill very seriously.  As a result, the law considers any type of firearm under 21 Okl.St.Ann. § 652(A).  So using something like a bow-and-arrow or other non-gun firearm would also fall into this arena.  Further, “purposefully” shooting the weapon at another person intending to kill or with the knowledge that death is a possibility, can face these charges.  This statute does not address self-defense claims, nor does it leave… Read More

Defending Breaking and Entering in Tulsa

In Oklahoma Breaking and Entering is more common than you think.  Often people don’t realize they’re committing the offense.  The simple act of even pushing an ajar door open can count as breaking and entering.  If you receive charges of breaking and entering let us help.  The following contains more information on how to recognize breaking and entering. Tulsa Lawyer Discusses Breaking and Entering: Oklahoma Statute Title 21 § 1438 defines the crime.  You must “intentionally,” or “willfully” enter into a structure without the owner’s or dweller’s… Read More