Our Tulsa DUI Lawyers care about you and your case. Unless you live under a rock, you don’t need to be told that it is against the law to drink over a certain amount of alcohol and drive a motor vehicle in The United States. DUI laws differ slightly from state to state but one thing that they all have in common is that the penalties for getting caught can be severe both personally and financially.
First Offense DUI in Tulsa:
In Oklahoma a first DUI offense carries a 30-day suspension of your drivers license. A second offense 6 months, and if you are convicted of DUI a third time, you’ll lose your driver’s license for a full year. You’ll pay fines and penalties ranging from $1000 up to $5000. Second and third offenders will also be required to install, at their expense, an Ignition Interlocking Device, which works similar to a breath-alyzer in that it requires that a driver breath into the device prior to starting the vehicle, but differs in that it is connected to the vehicle dashboard inside the vehicle. IIDs can be leased and you can expect to pay $100 for the installation and about $100 per month for the lease.
Misdemeanor DUI in Tulsa:
The first time you are convicted of a DUI, the crime will be treated as a misdemeanor, the second and subsequent times the crime is a felony. Oklahoma is a “zero-tollerance” state. If you are under 21 years old, any consumption of alcohol is too much and considered against the law. If you have a license to, and are operating a commercial vehicle, the tolerable limit of blood alcohol content is .04, and if you are over 21, that number is .08.
Oklahoma has an implied consent law meaning that if you refuse to submit to an alcohol and chemical test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. The penalties for refusing to take field sobriety and breathalyzer tests are 6 month license revocation and 18 month interlock for a first offense, 1 year license revocation for a second, and 3 years for a third.
Know the DUI Law in Tulsa:
Remember, drinking and driving is not against the law… drinking to the point of impairment and driving is against the law. Drinking alcohol effects different people differently, and the subsequent increase in your blood alcohol content varies with a number of variables such as your weight, sex and age. Everyday hundreds of innocent people are arrested and charged with DUI under questionable circumstances and you need to have an experienced and knowledgeable Tulsa DUI Lawyers on your side, one who will investigate and question every aspect of your DUI arrest and look for inconsistencies in police procedures and faulty testing equipment.
The police are subject to human error and testing equipment is subject to mechanical errors and manipulation. Time is of the essence to gather evidence and to secure police data. Call us today so that we can start our investigation immediately if you have been charged with a DUI or related offense.
Contact Our Tulsa DUI Lawyers
If you’ve been arrested and charges with either a misdemeanor or felony DUI call our Tulsa DUI lawyers today for a free consultation. DUI is a serious crime that will impact your driving privileges and maybe even your freedom. Call today 918-416-0358